AC cold enough?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dennis_H

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I had my compressor and condenser replaced in Jan/Feb timeframe. Haven't really needed it much since then till lately. Seemed to be not quite cool enough, so I put a set of gauges on it and pressures looked a little low at 85 degrees outside air. Was about 45/175 pressures. I added a can of 143a and the pressures went to 50/210 or so. I think it was better, but today it was about 95 degrees. Vent temps are somewhere in the mid 50s, I put the gauges back on and pressures were still about 50/210 at near 95 degrees agter running for 30 min driving.

Does this seem a little too warm at the vent? I think the 2010 is an orifice tube system, not a TXV. I have some experience with home HVAC, but I don't think you use superheat/subcooling numbers to fill auto units, right? Too many variables in heat load, compressor speeds, fan speeds, etc., correct?

Maybe that is all it can do at 95 degrees out, but my wife's Hyundai will freeze you out.

Thanks.

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Look at your gauge set, one of the scales should be temp. This will show you what the evap temp will be. I usually run the low side around 35-37 psi, high side 200 to 225 when the ambient temp is 85-90 degrees. This will keep the low side just above freezing.

See what your static temp is in the morning before cranking the engine. It should be very close to ambient temp. Auto ac doesn't use superheat/subcooling. The amount of refrigerant is by weight.

Last edited:

Motorcity muscle

Full Access Members
Reaction score