Bar's Leaks to mend a 5.4L crossover coolant leak at intake-head joint?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HonkingAntelope

Reaction score
I tried the search button, but didn't find much info to go on.

I'm a part time mobile mechanic and have a customer with this issue. Met with a customer for a rough idle and a misfire on #2 concern. Saw some steam coming out when we opened the hood and the trail off coolant between the bottom seam and the green pond in the engine valley. The coolant was also a full gallon low. We refilled the coolant and the customer reported the vehicle running and driving significantly better. Reset the codes and told the customer to check and top off coolant every time before starting the vehicle while I check into parts and labor involved for the plugs and coils job. If we're lucky, the misfire happened from the coil heating up more than usual rather than coolant getting into the plug tube. Thanks to Ford engineers, pulling the coil and looking inside is not easy or quick. T intake will have to come off and it's a 50/50 chance it's gonna have to be replaced due to the broken gasket seat. Odds are not very good for the heater hose tees surviving anything more than a passing glance, either.

The customer, like most people, is on a tight budget. This is not a one hour job. If we're lucky and keeping coolant topped off takes care of the misfire, what are other Ford owners experiences with using particle based stop leaks like Bar's to patch it up until it can be addressed properly? Obviously plugs and coils will all be replaced while the intake is removed. Of course, nothing silicate-based will be used.

Thanks.

Al Steel

Reaction score