Going to check out a 2014. What should I look for?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vigilante

Reaction score
Hi all.

Though I have not been on the forum for a while, I have continued to stay in the Expedition game. After my 1999, I upgraded to a 2005 and now am looking at a beautiful 2014. But before I fly half way across the country to check this thing out I figured I would ask those present what issues exist on a 2014 that I may not know about? I read through the sticky at the top of this forum and found some helpful information.

I am bringing a small tool bag with me on this trip as I plan on going over it with a fine tooth comb. I am an experienced mechanic but was curious about year-specific issues for 2014 if there were any.

I appreciate the help!

mr_dave

Full Access Members
Reaction score
The main things would be:
- a noticable knocking or loud tapping sound, usually from the passenger side rear valve cover, which would indicate one or more bad roller followers (and bad cam, possible head, etc)
- when (or if) the timing components were replaced and whether OEM parts were used - aftermarket timing parts are generally junk
- then just the usual stuff

OP
OP
Vigilante

Vigilante

Reaction score
Thanks! This is what I am going through on my '05 5.4. At 225k the timing chain has a lot of play in it.

JamaicaJoe

Full Access Members
Reaction score
You can always fix the mechanicals. I would not buy from the rust belt, nor certain areas that have flooded, as in SW Florida, hurricane Ian.
I would look at the frame rails for rust and finding none, go look to the radiator support bracket and then rockers etc.

bodabdan

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Listen to a cold start on the motor.
Verify oil pressure with a gauge, factory gauge is just an idiot light.