Hooking up a sound system, help.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Explor2Exped

Full Access Members
Reaction score
So I'm new to the whole subs & amps stuff. What am I going to have to do to get my subs working?

Can I just unplug the wires from the factory amp & run them into a 1200 watt amp?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

JDMitchell

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I would not run an aftermarket amp through the stock wiring, you would probably end up burning something up. Imagine trying to run a marathon only breathing through a coffee stirrer straw.

You will need a dedicated 12v power wire preferably 4 guage or larger hooked directly to your battery with an inline fuse (close to the battery) rated 40 amp or higher. Then you will need to run a 12v remote wire from your head unit to tell the amp when to power on. Then a short ground wire hooked into the chassis. If you have never done anything like this before I highly suggest you get a friend that has done this a couple times to help you out and make sure that you don't fry a perfectly good amp or mess up your expy. You can buy an amp wiring kit that will include everything you need to include all the connectors, just make sure it is at least 15 foot or longer since the expy is a long vehicle.

OP
OP
Explor2Exped

Explor2Exped

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I would not run an aftermarket amp through the stock wiring, you would probably end up burning something up. Imagine trying to run a marathon only breathing through a coffee stirrer straw.