Power window help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hahuston

Reaction score
Hi,
It's been 3 months since the last driver side power window motor and regulator replacement, now the window is skipping/slipping again. Would Ford parts really make a difference as the mechanic suggests? If not, are there questions I should be asking the mechanic? I have ZERO mechanical experience, so I really don't know what I don't know. Thanks!

Backstory/additional details:
Last January we had all of the motors, regulators and cables replaced for all for power windows in our 2014 Exp XLT EL. They were all moving very slow and the driver side window was skipping/slipping. The driver side window regulators and motor have now been replaced a total of 3 times due to continued issues. I'm not sure if the cables were replaced more than once. Parts and labor are still under warranty. The extended warranty company would not authorize genuine Ford parts, so cheaper aftermarket parts were used.

Hamfisted

Full Access Members
Reaction score
When it comes to window regulators, I've always had the best luck and service from factory OEM parts. What kind of warranty company is this ? The price difference is only about $20 at the shop rates. See if the shop doing the work will allow you to buy your own OEM parts and they just install them. Particularly on the driver's window, that sees frequent use. A new regulator always comes with new cables.

Gen3 Expedition Window Regulators at Rock Auto

WLR188-FRO.jpg

OP
OP
H

hahuston

Reaction score