Stereo upgrade questions

Discussion in '3rd Gen - 2007 - 2017' started by oldpaddy, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Hi all, I have a '14 limited with sync and navigation. Does anyone have first hand experience with installation? I'm debating getting a pioneer AVIC-W8500NEX. I see I'll need a idatalink maestro to keep the steering wheel functions.
    Will I be able to keep the rear controls? Crutchfield sells a kit (PAC C2R-FRD1) that allows retention of rear controls, but can that be used with the maestro if needed?
    What will I need to do to bypass the parking brake block?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Aspen03

    Aspen03 Full Access Members

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    The 8500 doesnt need bypassed for video playback from the wired output, its essentially the same as the 4500nex aside from a nicer display and built in nav. If necessary for whatever reason a google search will get you situated there. Not sure how the forum takes to advice on bypassing safety features... fwiw I've read in several pla es that the avic models can override a bypass due to the fact it has nav and knows its moving and will dynamically limit access to certain features anytime you're moving.

    The PAC harness you'd use instead of the maestro, there is a steering module available for it as well. I dont believe there is a plug n play option to completely retain RSE with headphones and all. I've seen a few diy write ups but all involve some work modifying the overheard dvd connections.
     
    oldpaddy likes this.
  3. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    What a pain. Thanks for the info.
     
  4. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    I pulled the trigger on a pioneer AVIC-W8500NEX. I got it for $700 (no tax) from sonic electronix online. Now I have to order a maestro and wiring harness. The maestro appears to be more plug and play than the pac, so I guess I'll go with that and not worry about the rear controls.
     
  5. Aspen03

    Aspen03 Full Access Members

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    That's a pretty good price for an 8500. The Maestro is a fantastic piece of equipment, just dont forget the F01, its separate from the RR unit. There is also the RR2 that allows for bluetooth programming so if you wish to change any configuration info it's easier than ripping it all out to plug into a computer. Check out the Pioneer CD-MC20 calibration mic that works with the 8500 to measure the vehicle environment and set EQ appropriately. I used it with my 4500 with good results and needed minimal changes afterward which is likely just based on my preferences.
     
    oldpaddy likes this.
  6. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Any idea if I'll be able to use the stock gps antenna, usb and mic?
     
  7. Aspen03

    Aspen03 Full Access Members

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Not sure off the top of head, if I have a chance later I can look into it. There is likely a USB retention harness available, I know the f150 offers one and willing to bet it's similar if not the same. The mic you would likely have to alter the favtory wiring to utilize as the pioneer uses a 2.5mm jack for mic input, it would need spliced on. If you remove the little riser from the mic it will install on the steering column with the adhesive patch and isnt very noticeable. I posted several pics in the thres below back in the summer when I did mine.

    https://www.expeditionforum.com/thr...2003-eddie-bauer-am-i-missing-anything.39354/

    With the connectivity that radio offers you'd be better off ordering the Metra knockout panel for an F150. It's a small rectangular module that has HDMI, 2 USB, and AUX that you can locate anywhere within about 3' of the dash. I put mine in the center console so all wiring stays concealed. It requires a hole to be cut in whatever surface you install it in. It's about half the size of a business card. I use wireless android auto most of the time so I rarely ever have cords out. Its convenient and draws less attention to someone peeking in your vehicle when parked.
     
    oldpaddy likes this.
  8. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Ugh Just got off the phone with sonicelectronix. They said I'm going to have to use aftermarket GPS antenna, mic and camera. What a nightmare. Soul sucking.
     
  9. Aspen03

    Aspen03 Full Access Members

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Is the camera display in the mirror or dash currently? GPS antenna is no problem, literally just stuck the thing to the top of the new radio. There is enough clearance in there and being nothing but plastic above it won't interfere with the signal.

    The camera I'm not sure, often times it's fairly easy to tie into the existing one, solder in a connection w RCA plug and plug right into the new radio. It just depends on where the wiring is routed as to how easy that actually is. Mic will take approx 30 seconds to run if placed at the column. I didnt have an opportunity to look into anything today, was quite busy at work and got out an hour later than planned as it was.
     
    oldpaddy likes this.
  10. oldpaddy

    oldpaddy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Thanks for the info. My current backup camera is tied into the radio/nav system. The tech said I'd run into problems with the camera even if I was able to splice it. Said something about how the factory cameras almost never work right with aftermarket stereos. He seemed pretty sure of himself. I'd rather not buy a camera and go through the headache of installing it if I don't have to. If I did then I'd probably drop down the headliner and fix my sunroof at the same time. Though from what I read, taking down and reinstalling the headliner is a 6hr job. I'm not sure I'm up for that anytime soon.
     

Share This Page