Lowered too low?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Kenny Brown

Reaction score
I'm new to the 4x4 world. I've owned 4 of them but never got into the details. My 97 was lowered by Kenny Brown Perf. back when new. The front susp. looks like it is only about 6" off the deck. This is a little too low for me cause I drive in the snow and don't want to worry about dragging. That said, should I go back to stock or use a lift kit to raise it? The rear has air bags with a valve installed on the dash behind the steering wheel co-located with a gauge... Just a note; Is it possible to get the same ride as my 03 Expedition. It handles much better than my 97...
Thx

Remo

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Well, if it's a 4x4 and its lowered, it most likely was done by adjusting the torsion bars. That being the case, it was probably only lowered 2" at most.

If it was done this way, it could be readjusted, but its a PITA you wouldn't want to go through every time there is snow. Anyway, the two inch drop probably won't affect your ability to drive in the snow much. What exactly are you worried about dragging? Are you talking about driving offroad?

If the front suspension looks different than stock, I need more details before I can know how it was lowered or what can be done to adjust it.

Remo

Full Access Members
Reaction score
That looks like more than 2" to me...Probably was more done than just adjusting the torsion bars.

OP
OP
K

Kenny Brown

Reaction score
Thanks. I thought so. I measured it about 4.25" from the deck to the lowest point on the front suspention... I'm going to get a Hanes and try to learn what stock was. The dealer that sent it out back in 97 might know something. I'll check Thur.

Buck Nasty

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Definately looks like more than a 2" drop! More like 4"+! Hard to tell via picture though.