Newbie here - Looking at an 02 Expedition to buy

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

0xowner

Full Access Members
Reaction score
HI everyone....

I'd like to hear some opinions here...

first I will mention that I have owned several Explorers over the last 17 years and loved each one.

I have been looking to move up in size to the Expedition and was trying to stay around the 06-08 models. However I have come across a decent buy (condition and price so i think) of an 02 expy with 120k miles. I missed out last month of a highly maintained 06 EB.

The 02 I am buying below book value as the person got it in a full property purchase.... they had to replace fuel pump to get running.

I drove it (after jumping battery) and it ran and seemed ok (max speed 35 mph). So I know a battery is needed and smog may only get done after we do the deal at DMV as I may be the only person getting current plates (or move permit).

I've read over common issues with these triton engines.... the spark plug blowing out. I went down again today to jump and run it again, but we never got it started via my explorer's battery.... tried a few times in 30 minutes.

Next time I will take the 10 amp charger with 50 amp jump and a fully charged power pack with me.

OK, so that's the background.... heres my questions:
what would you look for over in this model?
Eddie Bauer, 4.6L, 4r70w trans, and 3.55 rear axle.

How would you examine for potential spark plug issues?
I do see a flushing T was inserted into a heater hose (above coil/plug on pass side bank closet plug to firewall.

About the battery - any know power issues on these? i.e. drains?
Starters failing needing higher amps?