WHOOOSH Sound Under Boost, Normal?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bwhite8889

Reaction score
I recently had the VCT cam phaser job done on my 2018 Expedition. When I got it back I noticed a WHOOSH/hissing sound on the driver’s side while under turbo boost. It doesn’t sound terrible, almost like compressed air being released.

Through some research I decided to replace the Blow Off Valve (BOV). To my surprise, when I pulled the old one off, the entire piston/o-ring assembly appeared to be missing (pictured on the left-side of the photo). With the new one on I took it for a test drive. I still get the sound under boost but it seems slightly quieter, doesn’t activate as quickly (takes more boost before I’ll hear it) and the turbo seems slightly more responsive.

I’m no turbo expert, but here’s my attempt at an explanation… I assume that they forgot to install the o-ring piston assembly at the shop. So when I was under boost (any amount of pressure), the excess boost would pass right on by this assembly, thus making the whoosh sound all the time. With the new assembly, it has to build enough pressure to push that piston down before it will bypass. Am I thinking about this correctly?

Another dumb question, how critical is this assembly to the turbo system? It wasn’t triggering a code with the piston missing, and the hissing/whoosh didn’t entirely go away even with the new one installed (unless I installed it incorrectly? Can’t imagine that I did, it was only two 8mm bolts). Someone smarter than me might be able to explain exactly what this thing does and if that whoosh noise I’m hearing under boost is totally normal.

IMG_1087.jpeg

OP
OP
bwhite8889

bwhite8889

Reaction score
I believe so. Hard to say if the sound is just normal turbo noise but sure glad I found the BOV piston/seal issue.

99WhiteC5Coupe

Full Access Members