Weird Battery Drain

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Zitril

Reaction score
Hello all, newbie here.
Firstly I want to say sorry for the long and sorta convoluted post, I am not really sure what is happening and mechanics have been unable to help.
I recently purchased a 2007 Expedition Eddie Bauer, it seems to have been a barn car (I actually found hay/straw tucked in many crevices). I replaced the battery because it was fairly old, and for the first month nothing seemed off, then I noticed the headlights flickering.
I took it into the shop and they replaced the alternator. It seemed good for a few days then I noticed on start-up in the morning that after about 30 seconds the battery indicator would flash in the notification area and then the battery-voltage meter on the dash would go all the way to high, then after 30 seconds it would drop back to normal. This would cause a bunch of codes in many different modules, and if I tried to drive within the first minute or so of starting the car, it would not shift down gears and get stuck in 3rd while moving. Re-starting the car at this point would clear all the problems. The codes are B1317 C2778 B1676 P0563 P0625. These all are electrical problems and I started looking around for possible causes. The first thing that I came across was possibly the sensor cable on the alternator. I checked the cable; it had good connection and connectivity through it. The next thing that I found could be a parasitic draw that drains the battery overnight and then while starting low, battery voltage causes the alternator to go high voltage. Just a thought by me.