2004 Exp EB 4x4 question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

xchosen

Reaction score
So I love this old beast, it has 376k miles and runs nicely still. I have considered a new vehicle many times but I just don't want a payment. Financially I'm good and I know anything I put into this guy now I won't see any return but that doesn't matter.

If you intended to keep your ex going past the 400k mark what would you do? New tires, bushings, shocks?

I am not a mechanic and I don't intend to do the work myself.

Steve Sprinkle

Reaction score
My 2004 had 220K miles on it before it was rear-ended and totaled (bent frame). Following a routine maintenance schedule kept it running beautifully and it was my daily driver. I've spent more on maintenance on my 2015 (New shocks, sun roof issues, etc.) than I ever did on my 2004.

Vincent Vega

Full Access Members
Reaction score
With that many miles, you should be the one lecturing everyone else on how to maintain an Expedition, but here is what I would tell you. Just good maintenance. Good synthetic oil (i.e. Pennzoil Platinum or similar) and Motorcraft oil filter every 7500 mi or less. Fuel filter every 30k. Service transmission, trans case, power steering, coolant, front/rear diffs every 60k just to name some of the critical service items. Use Motorcraft replacement parts.
Other than that you don't need to do anything unless it is having problems. Speaking of which, the problems I have had are the A/C condensor, intake manifold coolant leak, and a startup rattle (from the front of the engine) from broken timing guides. These are common problem areas for our trucks to watch out for and fix asap if they happen.