99 issues with head change

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nsperf

Full Access Members
Reaction score
To preface this, I have been working in the auto field for over 3 decades.
I am not new and do not have run of the mill harbor freight tools.
I run a smal performance shop which is mostly GM and Mopar.
I have within the last year been doing some Ford stuff and have an SCT tuner aqcuiantance who does all my post hardware tunning.
I have 3 Fords and was pretty happy up until now.

So to all who want to ask how hard is it.

Well let me tell you, I will never be doing one again.

This really was one of the worst vehicle mechanical experiences I have ever had.

Everything you need to get to is behind something else.

Every nut and bolt either rounded off or started to round off.

It took me a week just to get the valvle covers off due to the fact that all the bolts rounded off when trying to remove them.

Not sure but most other bolts or nuts seemed to round off or be on the verge of rounding off.

Even exhaust manifold studs simply rounded without alot of torque applied.

The design on some items just seemes very hoakie to me.

I am very frustrated with this experience.

My F350 7.3 and Mustang GT have actually been relatively easy and so far very reliable. I will say however that they are not in the rigours of all weather like the expy.

Now that I am putting it all together I need 24 valve cover bolts that are 200 bucks from the dealer and my google search has retuned nothing from the after market. If you have an suggestions or recommendations please let me know. Snow id coming and my dually just does not go in the snow.

I am ready to call it a day and retunr all the parts and send this thing to the yard, I am extremly dissaponted with this experience

Last edited:

Thermo

technical advisor
Reaction score