Complete Failure of systems while motor running and driving

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

longboarder

Reaction score
I have a 6-month-old 2022 Expedition Max, approximately 6K mileage. I keep an eye on it, always monitoring gauges. I am a rideshare driver, not Uber or Left, but for children so I do go that extra bit. I was headed out the other day and forgot my phone so circled my block and as I was coming up to my house everything failed! Steering locked, brakes gone and locked absolutely no warning lights and panel normal with all gauges, including battery, showing perfect. I landed in my yard by pulling the emergency brake. I shut the engine off, caught my breath, and attempted to start it again only to see every single light in and out of the car going nuts, bells dinging but nothing warning. The brake pedal kicked back so hard I bruised my knee on the steering column.
I called AAA and had it towed to the dealership nearby (where purchased) and they were extremely nonplussed. Said this happens all the time, just a bad battery. It's six months old and only came with 10 miles on it. They said the factory "must have screwed up and not checked before shipping". Comforting. They told me that the battery controls the brakes and when it fails so do the brakes. I will sleep better knowing that!
Anyone ever hear of this? They said it was an easy couple hours fix--that was a day and a half ago and now they aren't returning phone calls or texts.