FORSCAN and "Charging System Service Soon"

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

turbotrevor

Reaction score
2019 XLT - 81k miles

I recently used FORSCAN (first time!) to remove Sirius/XM from the audio sources and to disable the Auto Off. Right after I finished these processes (which were successful), the "Charging System Service Soon" light came on. The timing was such that it seemed connected, but I'm not sure.

From my quick research, it seems like this would be independent of anything I did in FORSCAN. I tried doing the voltage checks with a multimeter on the battery (checks out) and alternator test (seems low - 13.6 volts or so) but I am not very experienced in this area and not confident in my processes.

I also cleared all codes with FORSCAN but that did not affect the Charging System notification (it might not even be possible with that process, I'm pretty new to this).

Any thoughts or suggestions on this? Do I need a new alternator? Do I need to go to the dealer to figure out what's happening with the "Charging System"?

Thanks!

TheDoug

Full Access Members
Reaction score
From my understanding they way forscan disables the auto start stop is by turning off something with the battery monitoring something or another.

There is a thread on this somewhere here.

Alwaysthinkin

Full Access Members
Reaction score
2019 XLT - 81k miles

I recently used FORSCAN (first time!) to remove Sirius/XM from the audio sources and to disable the Auto Off. Right after I finished these processes (which were successful), the "Charging System Service Soon" light came on. The timing was such that it seemed connected, but I'm not sure.