How much can I "safely" tow with 2016/2017 Expedition EL Limited with HD Tow Package?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AdamNeedsInfo

Reaction score
Hello, everyone. New to forum. New to Expeditions. New to travel trailers. Please bare with me. :)

Haven't bought either yet. But looking for the Expedition EL to become the new family vehicle (family of 5) and that it can also "safely" pull the Apex 289TBSS travel trailer that my wife wants. I have a friend with the same vehicle and nearly identical TT specs. And I see people on these forums pulling similar and even bigger/heavier trailers. Again, I'm new to all of this. But I keep running my numbers and I can't help but think that I would be exceeding some of the Expedition's weight/tow ratings. Which makes me think that my friend and many others in these forums are, too (either unknowingly or just willing to take the risk). I'll list the specs below. Please tell me if I'm overthinking all of this or if my concerns are valid.

2016/2017 Ford Expedition EL Limited, HD Tow Package (upgraded oil cooler and radiator, integrated brake controller, 7-pin), 3.73 rear axle, also plan to buy WDH with sway control
- max tow: 9200
- max tongue: 920
- GCWR: 15300
- max payload/cargo: 1400
- curb weight: 6100
- GVWR: 7500

2018 Apex 289TBSS
- dry weight: 5720
- hitch weight: 715
- carrying capacity: 1880
- GTWR: 7600