Missfire on cyl 4 - now on 3 & 7, no power

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bratwurst

Reaction score
Hello guys, newbie here, and I hope someone is able to help with my engine problem.

97' Expi 4x4, 4.6L with the 2 ignition coils at the front of the engine

It all started with the check engine light and the engine not running smoothly, no power. Diagnosis was misfire on cylinder 4, I then purchased a new ignition coil for the left cylinder bank.

I then took it in and they checked all the cables, cleaned the fuel delivery system, carburetor, all injectors, cleaned and flushed the tank and fuel lines, replaced fuel pump strainer and installed a new fuel filter.

After this was all done, suddenly there is a misfire on cylinders 3 and 7 (!), so on both banks and there is even less power. It is a really choppy ride to say the least. Cables look all good and tightly attached.

Any help is really appreciated and I thank you guys in advance!

1955moose

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Electrical items can't be just looked at, they need to be tested with a volt./ohmmeter. Rather than getting into readings, YouTube how! But the fact you paid them and now it's worse, make them fix it right. We here can give you advice, but are you going to fix misfire, or are they.By the way, if you think your SUV has a carburetor, put the wrenches back in the tool box, and make an appointment with a quality shop! And by the way, who is they?

Sent from my N9131 using Tapatalk

OP
OP
Bratwurst

Bratwurst

Reaction score
Hehe thanks for the reply. I have not done any work on there myself, I admit being not talented enough.