Replaced Water pump, Thermostat, Belt

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Captain Morgan

Full Access Members
Reaction score
It Still Seems To Build up Too Much Air Pressure But It Could be Common as I'm Fairly new To The First Gen Expy ! Thoughts And Comments Welcome !

Hi, what does this mean? Does it appear to be overheating? What does temperature gauge indicate?

When you refilled the radiator and reservoir, did you run it a while with the cap off?

Remove the cap, run it till it's warmed up and fill just enough to cover the radiator core. Add the mix to the reservoir and close to cap.

You did add the proper amount of antifreeze yes? Not just water.

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score
If I remember correctly these are 16lb systems which would seem high compared to the 10 lb older cars. If it is puking coolant out of the tank I'd read the pressure with a gauge or look for bubbles in the tank while it is running. What coolant did you use, premixed or concentrate, tap water or distilled?

Captain Morgan

Full Access Members
Reaction score
If you had blockage in the water jackets in the engine it would be a constant restriction to the water flow.

If the thermostat you just put in doesn't open all the way up then the temperature would rise immediately as the engine warms and once a thermostat opens, it doesn't magically close again and then open again.

If the pump stops pumping at any point, then the water trapped in the engine water jackets immediately over heats and builds excessive pressure. Your temperature sensor says your over heating and the pressure and bubbling over says your over heating.

My gut says either the pump stops pumping due to belt slippage or you have a rebuilt water pump and it's also bad and should be swapped again.