Electric fan anyone!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AlexExpy

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Thinking of installing an electric fan in front of the radiator for back up. Has anybody here done this before and what kit did you use? TIA.

Thermo

technical advisor
Reaction score
Alex, I am running a dual Derali 14" fan set up in my truck. I tossed the mechanical fan all together. Gained about 6 hp and 8 ft-lbs of torque across the whole RPM band. Makes a nice change.

As for a kit, I made my own. Granted, I am an electronics tech by trade, so, wiring is something I do all day long. So, I saved myself a few bucks. The big thing that I will tell you to avoid are the "wire wound" temperature controllers. While they are cheap and work great for the first year, after that, plan on having lots and lots of issues with them. Go with one of the electronic controllers that has a relay associated with it. Costs a few more dollars, but it will probably outlast the truck.

If you want any more info, let me know.

OP
OP
AlexExpy

AlexExpy

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Alex, I am running a dual Derali 14" fan set up in my truck. I tossed the mechanical fan all together. Gained about 6 hp and 8 ft-lbs of torque across the whole RPM band. Makes a nice change.

As for a kit, I made my own. Granted, I am an electronics tech by trade, so, wiring is something I do all day long. So, I saved myself a few bucks. The big thing that I will tell you to avoid are the "wire wound" temperature controllers. While they are cheap and work great for the first year, after that, plan on having lots and lots of issues with them. Go with one of the electronic controllers that has a relay associated with it. Costs a few more dollars, but it will probably outlast the truck.

If you want any more info, let me know.

This is what I'm talking about! :)