Issues with connecting to Home Wi-Fi

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lou Hamilton

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Keep in mind that my day job is to design networks, so I hope this is not a user issue. LOL

I cannot get my new Expedition to connect to ANY secured network at my house.

I have tried:
My main network -- FAIL
Setup a new network using 2.4 only -- FAIL
Setup a Guest network -- FAIL
Tried a different Access Point -- FAIL
Removed LocalDomainName -- FAIL

The only way I could connect is to create a new VLAN isolated from my home network. Create a hidden network that is OPEN and only has 5M guest access to the Internet. This is NOT ideal, but the only way I could do it.

My home network is business grade equipment by a company called Ubiquiti, so it is not the generic Big Box equipment. I am able to fine tune it pretty much any way I want to.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or insights.

duneslider

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Is it possible the access point is too far from your vehicle and the signal is questionable?

I don't have any issues getting mine to connect with my google wifi mesh setup. I had planned to move to the ubiquiti stuff due to my new house being bigger and worrying that the google stuff wouldn't give me enough range. The ubiquiti stuff is pretty nice so I wouldn't think it would be at fault. Do you have a different brand router hanging around that you could test with? I know years ago I had a ton of issues with connectivity with an asus router, it gave me fits.

OP
OP
Lou Hamilton

Lou Hamilton

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Is it possible the access point is too far from your vehicle and the signal is questionable?