Prospective Expedition Owner...What am I in for?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ford_Prospect1128

Reaction score
Newbie here. I have been looking to purchase a new full-size SUV for several months now. Wife and I live out of state and away from family and travel home often to visit. Plus we have our first little one due in November. Needless to say we need a large vehicle that fits our travel needs, plus kid/dog. We have test driven the Tahoe, Denali, Expedition Limited and Sequoia and liked certain things about each of them. The reliability of the Toyota is a huge plus for me, but I refuse to buy a $65K SUV with 90s technology on the interior. Denali and Tahoe Premier were very nice, but I am somewhat partial to the Fords being from Louisville. I have never owned a Ford (or Chevy for that matter) and am looking for input on your all's reliability experience and overall ownership experience with the Expeditions. I am almost settled on the Ford, but looking for some input/advice to push me over the edge on my decision. Never thought I would spend $70K on a FORD, but that's the going rate for a full-size SUV these days. Just crazy. Thanks in advance!

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Welcome to the site. Save your money for the child & buy a used Expy. There are way to many electronic controls on the vehicles today. I teach this stuff also & I see the price for repairs.

What you want and what you need are vastly different things.

Last edited:

JExpedition07

That One Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’d agree with stamp but if you have the funds sometimes a new vehicle is right for you. Hey someone has to keep buying these things new or there won’t be any used ones for me....