Oil catch can.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dark Z

Reaction score
Hey guys, thought I'd ask if anyone installed the oil catch can since it is a very popular install on the F150, I'm not sure how similar the engine bay of the Expy is compare to the current F150, but I was wondering if anyone is planning to install it? I have it installed on my 13 F150, works great even up to this date. definitely something I would invest for the Expy as well. Thanks.

Randy Schmidt

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Heard that these 2nd Gen Eco Boosts don't need a catch can like the Gen 1 engines did. I am not an expert by any means, just passing along what I have heard in the past.

JohnT

Full Access Members
Reaction score
2nd Gen Ecoboost engines have both port injectors and direct injectors

The direct injectors inject fuel directly into the cylinder, the fuel never "washes" the outside of the intake valve.

Port injection happens further back in the air stream before the intake valve so a mixture of air, egr gases and fuel travels over the back of the intake valve during the intake stroke. This help clean the crud* that can build up on the back of the valve. This crud bakes on (from memory) mostly from 180C to 290c which coincidentally is the exact range an intake valve with just air passing over it sits at a lot of the time :)